Inaugural Queensland Shows Awards winners announced


TAROOM, Maleny, Goondiwindi and the Sunshine Coast show societies are revelling in their wins in the inaugural Queensland Shows Awards.

The awards serve to recognise excellence in the agricultural show movement and were announced at the Agri-Gala on Saturday evening at the Queensland Shows Biennial Conference held at the University of Queensland Gatton Campus.

Queensland Shows president Keith Bettridge congratulated all winners of the inaugural awards, which included categories for Best Innovation in a Local Event, Outstanding Individual Contribution and Emerging Leader.

“These award finalists highlight just how innovative and hardworking the people of Queensland agricultural shows are,” Mr Bettridge said.

“I really do believe these awards hold such great potential. I am looking forward to seeing how they continue to grow each year. It’s a wonderful initiative by the Next Generation Committee.”

The Best Innovation in a Local Event was presented to the Sunshine Coast Agricultural Show Society for their ‘Farmers Feature’; a section comprising of free trade sites for local farmers, an agricultural education centre and children’s trail.

Runner-up was awarded to Taroom for a new media campaign enhancing engagement with the local community.

The Outstanding Individual Contribution Award went to Maleny’s Jessica Wild for her work in establishing the ‘Small Farmers Tent’ to showcase the region’s niche agricultural industries.

Goondiwindi’s Marianne MacMillan was awarded Runner-up for a plethora of contributions including as the cookery and preserves steward, but also establishing a Young Judges component to the section.

The Emerging Leader Award was won by South West Shows sub-chamber president Christie McLennan for her unfaltering efforts to agricultural shows on all levels and consistent innovations in events.

Claire Magann, received Runner-up for her consistent efforts in planning and executing of activities for the Goondiwindi Show Society including mentoring the junior showgirls.



Best Innovation in Local Event:

-Monto Show Society
-Sunshine Coast Agricultural Show Society
-Taroom Show Society
-Tully & District Show Society


Outstanding Individual Contribution:

-Cr Jenny McKay (Sunshine Coast)
-Marianne McMillan (Goondiwindi)
-Rowan O’Hara (Sunshine Coast)
-Ray Pembleton (Sunshine Coast)
-Kerri Robertson (Goondiwindi)
-Lawrence Schmish-Lahey (Goondiwindi)
-Jessica Wild (Maleny)


Emerging Leader:
-Kass Clark (Millmerran)
-Claire Magann (Goondiwindi)
-Christie McLennan (Taroom)

-Wally Bell (Dirranbandi)

Leave the first comment